Hi, everyone! 6 21 13

bracelets 6 21 13 001

Yesterday was the longest day ever at the hospital. I had gone to the lab near home on Tue to have the blood drawn for Thu’s chemo. Somehow, they failed to do the CA-125 part of it, so my nurse called to tell me we needed blood drawn again, and also that the CBC on Tue had shown that my white blood cell count was too low. So, I was told to go in to the hospital an hour earlier Thu to go to their lab and have it all drawn again, STAT, and if the white cell count was still too low, we might have to postpone that day’s chemo.

So, I arrived at the hospital around 645 am and did the blood draw, telling TWO people there that we needed both a CA-125 and the CBC. I made sure the tech drew TWO tubes of blood for that.

I went upstairs, had my appt and exam with the oncologist, and was sent to speak to my (truly wonderful!) nurse Vanessa. Vanessa was calling downstairs about the blood tests.

The lab said they did not have the CBC! So we knew nothing about the white cell count! She made many calls and kept telling people about the order and that it was STAT, and that the patient (me) had seen them draw TWO tubes, but it was not found. How frustrating!!

So, they decided to go ahead and send me down for a CT with contrast while they hashed that out, because I’m still dealing with this shortness of breath. My doc told me that clear cell cancers, like mine, are associated with a higher risk of clots and she wanted to make sure there were none in the lungs. SOoooo, back downstairs to fill out forms and wait some more, then had the CT and waited for the radiologist to read them so they could tell me whether I could leave. Finally did, so BACK upstairs to 13th to the doc’s and Vanessa eventually came and said that they found the CBC and the white count was still low. Fooey.

BUT, they decided to have me do chemo anyway and reduce the dose of the Carboplatin. Vanessa also told me that I would be starting daily injections of Neupogen to deal with the white count situation. After a while, I was called to the chemo clinic. Since it was Day 1 of a new cycle (the 6th and last!!!), I got the whole shebang and it took about 4 hours. I don’t know when the shots will start.

OH — but this is major — the CT did NOT show any clots in the lungs, so that is WONDERFUL!!! I guess we really don’t have an explanation for the shortness of breath except that I am just running on empty and exhausted, and it is a possible side effect of many of the 3 million meds I’m on. 🙂

I don’t know yet what this week’s CA-125 is. I have faith it will still be very good. The last 2 were a score of 4, which is EXCELLENT!!!

I missed a lot of work this week. I went in on Wed, but had to go back home after 3 hours. Too nauseous and fatigued. Also had a headache. And I missed today, which is a Friday, and I would normally plan to work on a Friday. But I’m just too wiped out. I guess my bone marrow is simply too pooped to pop. 🙂

That’s about all I know for now. I love all of you and I hope all is well in your worlds!!!!

PS — the pic is of the hospital bracelets from yesterday. I always get the blue one (name and date of birth etc) and the red one (No Known Allergies), but this time Radiology gave me the yellow Fall Risk, as I am using my cane. Sure did make me feel like an old broad for a second, but the truth of the matter is that I AM pretty wobbly…..the neuropathy in the feet has about 2/3 of them numb, so walking has to be a very conscious and careful effort.

4 thoughts on “Hi, everyone! 6 21 13

  1. Linda Cristel

    Oh Gretchen….you poor sweetie,
    You’ve been put thru the mill, especially yesterday. Gosh that’s awful they couldn’t find your lab work twice.
    ” come on lab people! Dang it do your dang job!”….I would say.
    But of course I’m not a sweetie like you Gretchen! You my dear are an inspiration!
    And thank God for your angel of a nurse!
    Hope you feel better and thankful your CT scan came back good!!!!
    Hang in there sweetie. You’re almost to the finish line.
    Praying & Praying & Praying for you!
    Hope you start feeling better very soon.
    Linda Cristel

    Reply
  2. Jane Bush

    Gretachen, I know you have to be weary physically, mentally, and emotionally! I’ll continue to keep you in my thoughts & prayers…I pray God’s healing power will envelope your entire being! (((hugs)))

    Reply
  3. Chris Hull

    Good to hear from u and glad u r in the final stretch of chemo. I had one time when my counts were too low and couldnt get my tx. The experience is a difficult one…definitely a very long, challenging trek…but life is good on the other side..it is actually good no matter where u r

    I think of u often…lots of love and white healing light coming ur way

    Reply

Leave a comment